隔离式内置永磁发电机的非均衡负载表现

摘要:直接驱动隔离交流负载的便携式交流发电机需要精确的电压调节、良好的电压波形质量以及较高的效率。本文研究了4极、16KV内置永磁发电机在均衡3相和非均衡单相电子负载条件下的性能情况。在非均衡单相条件下将星形和三角形绕组连接进行了对比。分析、有限元仿真结果与实验结果进行了对比。

一、前言

本文研究了采用内置永磁发电机(IPMG)替代小型便携式发电机内的传统励磁同步发电机的应用。该发电机受调速原动机(如柴油或汽油发动机)驱动,为隔离交流负载提供动力。与传统发电机相比,内置永磁发电机的优点在于:尺寸小、重量轻、效率高、不需要励磁、可靠性高、维护少[1]。

驱动隔离交流负载时,对交流发电机的主要要求是在各种负载条件下(包括诸如运行单相负载等非均衡操作)保持精确的电压调节、良好的电压波形以及高效率。电压调节范围为±5%。另外驱动感应电机时,3相电压应保持均衡以便最小化负序电流,否则会引起过热,缩短其寿命。电压波形的总谐波失真率(THD)应低于5%。

已经有人发表了有关AC永磁发电机电压调节问题的文章,提出了一些符合精确电压调节要求的可能解决方案,如增大设备尺寸、使定子处于饱和状态、采用高凸极设计[1-4]。然而,据作者所知,尚未有人发表有关单相负载条件下内置永磁发电机的分析文章。本文关注均衡和单相非均衡负载条件下内置永磁发电机的表现情况,尤其是电压调节和总谐波失真率要求。

本文结构如下:第二部分说明了等效电路以及均衡条件下发电机的响应情况(见图1(a))。第三部分介绍了非均衡单相负载条件下发电机的表现情况(见图1(b))。在第四部分中,考虑采用三角形绕组连接改善单相负载条件下的性能(见图1(c))。第五部分进行了总结。本文阐述了上述所有条件下的分析计算、有限元分析以及实验性测量结果。

 

Figure 1

图1:内置永磁发电机的等效示意图 (a)三相均衡负载 (b)单相星形连接 (c)单相三角形连接

 

 

二、均衡电阻负载

之前已经阐述了用于便携式发电机的16kw、4极、36槽内置永磁发电机的分析、仿真和建模情况[5],包括各种因素(如凸极比、定子电阻、饱和度)对电压调节和效率的影响。另外,经过与励磁发电机对比,通过实验过程中对效率和燃料消耗的测量已经证实了内置永磁发电机具有的优点。

图2所示为辐条式内置永磁发电机在负载条件下运行时的截面图以及通量图。由于采用分裂磁体设计,转子洞槽也经过精心设计,改善了负载情况下的AC输出电压波形。表一为关键设计信息总结表。

 

Figure 2

图2:负载条件下辐条式内置永磁发电机的计算通量图[5]

 

本文采用时步瞬态2D FE仿真(耦合电路)建模。通过计算定子槽间距平均值估算出定子斜度近似值。

图3所示为内置永磁发电机在均衡三相电阻负载条件下的时步FE仿真结果与前文[5]中分析测量结果的对比情况(图1(a))。首先展示的是理想模型的分析结果,然后是饱和状态和定子电阻的分析结果。结果显示定子电阻和饱和状态对电压调节以及发电机效率具有明显的影响。

在16kw额定输出条件下,发电机的电压降幅(约5%)是可以接受的。输出功率为20kw时,发电机的电压降幅约为8%。

FE结果与测量结果非常相符。另外,FE和实验结果之间的效率差异是由于未考虑仿真时的机械和风阻损失而造成的。

 

Figure 3

图3:1500rpm时内置永磁发电机分析、FE仿真与测量性能对比 (a)电压调节 (b)效率

 

三、非均衡负载

本部分考虑了单相负载情况(图1(b)),因为单相负载是引起隔离发电机非均衡运作的最常见原因之一。单相负载情况下,尽管其他相的电流为零,其他相的电压变化仍然非常明显,因为受到了互感影响。

要分析计算三相的电压,有必要查出自感和互感情况。内置永磁发电机的凸极比很低,可视为非凸极发电机[5]。通过有限元分析或实验检测可以查出其感应情况。发电机的一相(A相)与AC电流源相连,而其他相(C段)在发电机静止不动时是断开的。发电机对称(Vb=Vc.)时,自感(L)和互感(M)可通过以下公式计算:

Item 1

 

Ia 为a相电流,R为定子电阻。因此,三相的电压可通过以下公式计算:

 

Item 2

 

 

图4所示为发电机额定输出时的相量图,采用了公式(1)、(2)计算的自感和互感。这四个相量图针对的是3相均衡情况、单相负载下的负载相以及二者有电阻和无电阻的情况。由于电阻电压降低与输出电压同相,相对于电感来说,电压调节对定子电阻更加敏感。在单相负载情况下,预计电压调节会稍微有所改善,因为没有来自于其他相的互感电压。

 

Figure 4

图4:3相均衡、单相负载以及二者有电阻和无电阻情况下的相量图范例

 

图5(a)、(b)、(c)对比了单相电阻负载应用于相A时内置永磁发电机三相的电压调节计算分析结果、FE仿真结果以及测量结果。分析模型预测相A出现最大的电压降幅,相B出现较小的电压降幅,相C出现小幅电压升高。实验结果证明了分析模型的合理预测,只是电压幅值变化约为两倍。有限元结果证实了相A和相C的实验结果,但是对相B的电压降幅预测结果比实验观察的结果高很多(二分之一)。

图5(d)对比了三相和单相负载条件下负载相的电压调节情况。如上所述,预计三相负载条件下的电压变化比单相负载条件下更大。分析结果和FE结果证明了这一点。但是实验结果却显示了相反的趋势,原因正在调查。

 

Figure 5

图5:1500rmp转速、非均衡负载条件下内置永磁发电机的电压调节(a)分析结果(b)FE仿真 (c)实验测量(d)三相和单相负载条件下负载相电压调节分析结果、FE仿真以及测量结果对比

 

四、星形-三角形连接

如果发电机只需要驱动单相负载,可以将定子绕组按三角形结构重新连接(图1(c))。本部分对这种结构的电压调节和总谐波失真率与星形结构进行了对比。

如图7(b)所示,三角形连接对总谐波失真率具有更大影响。FE仿真结果预测出测量结果反映出的总体趋势。在整个负载范围内,三角形结构的总谐波失真率改善了2-3%,这样,发动机能够达到满载时总谐波失真率为5%的要求。

永磁发电机三角形连接遇到的其中一个问题就是环流问题。FE仿真显示环流为3.3A(约为额定电流的14%),主要为三次谐波。测定环流为2.9A。

Figure 7

图7:星形/三角形连接情况下负载相FE仿真与实验结果对比(a)电压调节;(b)总谐波失真率.

 

五、结论

在便携式交流发电机应用中,电压调节、总谐波失真率、效率都重要。本文重点讨论了非均衡单相电阻负载条件下三相、4极、16KW内置永磁发电机的性能情况。结果显示定子电阻和互感对单相负载条件下的三相电压调节重要。本文也对星形和三角形定子绕组连接进行了对比,结果显示采用三角形连接时,电压调节获得小幅改善(0.5%),而负载相的总谐波失真率则获得明显改善(2%)。

 

参考文献

[1]  R. M. Saunders and R. H. Weakley, “Design of Permanent-Magnet Alternators,” American Institute of Electrical Engineers, Transactions of the, vol. 70, pp. 1578-1581, 1951.

[1]  R. M. Saunders 与 R. H. Weakley,”永磁交流发电机设计”,美国电气工程师协会,学报 卷 70, pp. 1578-1581, 1951。

[2]  B. J. Chalmers, “Performance of interior-type permanent-magnet alternator,” Electric Power Applications, IEE Proceedings -, vol. 141, pp. 186-190, 1994.

[2]  B. J. Chalmers,”内置永磁交流发电机的性能”,电力应用,IEE会刊,卷 141, pp. 186-190, 1994。

[3]  W. Wu, E. Spooner, and B. J. Chalmers, “Design of slotless TORUS generators with reduced voltage regulation,” Electric Power Applications, IEE Proceedings -, vol. 142, pp. 337-343, 1995.

[3]  W. Wu, E. Spooner, B. J. Chalmers,”带降压调节功能的无槽环形发电机设计”,电力应用,IEE会刊,卷 142, pp. 337-343, 1995。

[4]  K. Kurihara, T. Kubota, K. Saito, N. Kikuchi, and H. Iwamoto, “High-efficiency interior permanent-magnet synchronous generators with minimal voltage regulation for nano and pico hydro generation,” in Electrical Machines and Systems (ICEMS), 2012, pp. 1-4.

[4]  K. Kurihara, T. Kubota, K. Saito, N. Kikuchi, H. Iwamoto,”适用于纳米与微型水力发电的高效内置永磁同步发电机”,电气机械与系统 (ICEMS), 2012, pp. 1-4。

[5]  “Interior PM generator for portable AC generator sets,” Energy Conversion Congress and Exposition (ECCE), IEEE 2014.

[5]  “适用于便携式交流发电机组的内置永磁发电机”,能源转换会议与展览会(ECCE),IEEE 2014。

 

0 回复

发表评论

Want to join the discussion?
Feel free to contribute!

发表评论

电子邮件地址不会被公开。 必填项已用*标注

Unbalanced Loading Behaviour of the Isolated Interior Permanent-Magnet Generator

Abstract —Portable AC generators directly driving isolated AC loads require tight voltage regulation, good voltage waveform quality and high efficiency. This paper studies the performance of a 4 pole, 16 kW interior permanent-magnet generator under balanced 3ph and unbalanced 1ph resistive loading conditions. For the unbalanced 1ph condition, the use of star and delta winding connections is compared. The results of analytical and finite-element simulations have been compared with experimental results.

I. Introduction

This paper examines the application of an interior permanent-magnet generator (IPMG) to replace a conventional wound-field synchronous generator in a small portable generator. This generator is driven by a speed-regulated prime mover such as a diesel or petrol engine, and provides power to an isolated AC load. Some of the advantages of an IPMG over a conventional generator are: lower size and weight, higher efficiency, no requirement for field excitation, and higher reliability and lower maintenance [1].

The key requirement for the generator when driving isolated AC loads is to maintain tight voltage regulation, good voltage waveform quality and high efficiency over a wide range of load conditions including unbalanced operation such as running single-phase loads. The voltage regulation should be within . In addition, the 3ph voltages should be balanced when driving induction machines to minimize negative sequence currents which can otherwise cause overheating and shorten their life. The total harmonic distortion (THD) of the voltage waveform should also be less than 5%.

There are some published works on voltage regulation issues of AC permanent magnet generators. Oversizing the machine, saturating the stator and using high-saliency designs are possible solutions to the tight voltage regulation requirement [1-4]. However, to the best of authors’ knowledge, no work has been presented on the analysis of the IPMG under the single-phase loading condition. The present paper focuses on the behavior of the IPMG under balanced and single-phase unbalanced loading conditions with the especial attention to the voltage regulation and THD requirements.

This paper is organized as follows: section II explains the equivalent circuit and the response of the machine under balanced condition (see Fig. 1(a)). Section III includes the behavior of the machine under the unbalanced single-phase load condition (see Fig. 1(b)). In section IV, the alternative delta winding connection is considered to improve performance under single-phase loads (see Fig. 1(c)) and section V concludes. For all the above conditions, analytical calculations, finite element (FE) analysis and experimentally measured results will be presented.

 

Figure 1

Figure 1. Equivalent diagram of the IPMG. (a) 3-phase balanced loading condition. (b) single-phase star connection. (c) single-phase delta connection.

 

 

II. Balanced Resistive Load

Analysis, simulation and modelling of a 16-kW, 4-pole, 36-slot IPMG for a portable generator application had been presented previously [5]. It included the effects of various factors such as saliency ratio, stator resistance and saturation on the voltage regulation and efficiency. In addition, the superiority of the designed IPMG as compared to the wound-field generator had been demonstrated by experimental measurement of the efficiency and fuel consumption.

Fig. 2 shows the indicative cross-section of the spoke-type IPMG and its flux plot when operating under load. It uses a split-magnet design with carefully designed rotor voids and slots to improve the AC output voltage waveform under load. Table I shows a summary of its key design information.

 

Figure 2

Figure 2. Calculated flux plot of spoke-type interior PM generator under the loaded condition [5].

In this paper a time-stepping transient 2D FE simulation with a coupled electric circuit was used to model the machine. The stator skew was approximating by averaging the results over one stator slot pitch.

Fig. 3 compares the time-stepping FE simulation results with the analytical and measured results presented earlier in [5] for the IPMG with a balanced 3-phase resistive load (Fig. 1(a)). The analytical results are presented for an ideal model and then with saturation and stator resistance. The results indicate that stator resistance and saturation have a significant impact on the voltage regulation and efficiency of the machine.

The machine shows acceptable voltage drop (approx. 5%) at the 16 kW rated output condition. Even at 20 kW output power, the machine shows about 8% voltage drop.

The FE results are in excellent agreement with the measured ones. In addition, the difference in efficiency between the FE and experimental results may be due to neglecting the mechanical and windage losses in the simulation.

 

Figure 3

Figure 3. Comparison of analytical, FE simulation and measured characteristics of the IPMG at 1,500 rpm. (a) voltage regulation and (b) efficiency.

 

III. Unbalanced Load

In this section the single-phase loading case (Fig. 1 (b)) is considered as it is one of the most common and extreme sources of unbalanced operation of isolated generators. In this case, although the currents in the other phases is zero, the voltage change in the other phases is still significant due to the effect of mutual inductance.

To analytically calculate the voltages of the three phases it is necessary to find the self and mutual inductances. The IPMG has a low saliency ratio and can be approximated as a non-salient machine [5]. Its inductances can be found using finite-element analysis or experimental testing. One phase (phase A) of the machine is connected to the AC current source where the other phases (B and C) are open while the machine is stationary. As the machine is symmetrical Vb = Vc. The self (L) and mutual (M) inductances can be calculated [6] as:

Item 1

 

where Ia is the a-phase current and R is the stator resistance. Therefore, the voltages of the three phases can be calculated as follow:

 

Item 2

 

 

Fig. 4 shows some example calculated phasor diagrams for the machine at rated output using the self and mutual inductances calculated from (1) and (2). The four phasor diagrams are for the 3-ph balanced case and for the loaded phase with single-phase loading, both with and without resistance. As the resistance voltage drop is in-phase with the output voltage, the voltage regulation is more sensitive to stator resistance than the inductance. Also under single-phase loading, the voltage regulation would be expected to be slightly improved due to lack of induced mutual voltage from other phases.

 

Figure 4

Figure 4. Example calculated phasor diagrams for balanced 3-phase and single phase loading, both with and without stator resistance.

 

Figs. 5(a), (b), and (c) compare the analytically calculated, FE simulation, and measured results of the voltage regulation of the three phases of the IPMG when a single-phase resistive load is applied to phase A. The analytical model predicts phase A to have the largest voltage drop, with phase B having a smaller voltage drop and phase C having a small voltage increase. The experimental results show a reasonable correspondence to the analytical model except with approximately twice the voltage magnitude changes. The finite-element results show a good correspondence to the experimental results for phases A and C, but predicts a much larger drop (a factor of two) in phase B than was observed experimentally.

Fig. 5(d) compares the voltage regulation of the loaded phase in 3-phase and single-phase loading conditions. As indicated above, it is expected that in the 3-phase loading condition, the voltage change would be more than that of the single-phase loading. This was found in the analytical and FE results however, the experimental results show the reverse trend. The reason for this is being investigated.

 

Figure 5

Figure 5. Voltage regulation of the IPMG under unbalanced loading condition at 1,500 rpm: (a) analytical, (b) FE simulation and (c) experimental measurement. (d) Comparison of voltage regulation of the loaded phase in 3-phase and single-phase loading conditions for analytical, FE and measurements.

 

IV. Star-Delta Connection

If the generator only needs to drive single-phase loads, it is possible to reconnect the stator winding in a delta configuration (Fig. 1 (c)). The voltage regulation and THD of this configuration is compared with the star configuration in this section.
Fig. 7(a) compares the FE and measured voltage regulation of the loaded phase with the generator stator windings connected in star and delta. The FE results predict that the delta-connected configuration should have an approximately 1% better voltage regulation at full load. The measurements show similar voltage regulation for the two configurations up to about 3 kW with an approximate 0.5% improvement at full-load.

The delta connection has a more substantial effect on the THD value as shown in Fig. 7 (b). The FE results predict the general trend found in the measured results. The delta connection shows about 2 to 3% improvement in THD over the full range of loads and allows the generator to meet the 5% THD requirement at full-load.

One of the issues with a delta connection for permanent magnet machines is circulating current.  The FE simulation showed that this circulating current was 3.3A (about 14% of rated current) and was largely 3rd harmonic. The measured circulating current was 2.9A.

Figure 7

Figure 7. FE and experimental result comparison of the loaded phase in star/delta connection: (a) voltage regulation and (b) THD.

 

V. Conclusions

In a portable AC generator application, voltage regulation, THD, and efficiency are important. This paper focusses on the  performance of a 3ph, 4 pole, 16 kW interior permanent-magnet generator under unbalanced 1ph resistive loading. The results show the importance of the stator resistance and mutual inductance on the voltage regulation of the three phases under single-phase loading. It also compared the star and delta stator winding connections and showed a small measured improvement (0.5%) in the voltage regulation but a significant improvement in the THD (2%) of the loaded phase when using a delta connection.

 

References

[1]    R. M. Saunders and R. H. Weakley, “Design of Permanent-Magnet Alternators,” American Institute of Electrical Engineers, Transactions of the, vol. 70, pp. 1578-1581, 1951.
[2]    B. J. Chalmers, “Performance of interior-type permanent-magnet alternator,” Electric Power Applications, IEE Proceedings -, vol. 141, pp. 186-190, 1994.

[3]    W. Wu, E. Spooner, and B. J. Chalmers, “Design of slotless TORUS generators with reduced voltage regulation,” Electric Power Applications, IEE Proceedings -, vol. 142, pp. 337-343, 1995.

[4]    K. Kurihara, T. Kubota, K. Saito, N. Kikuchi, and H. Iwamoto, “High-efficiency interior permanent-magnet synchronous generators with minimal voltage regulation for nano and pico hydro generation,” in Electrical Machines and Systems (ICEMS), 2012, pp. 1-4.

[5]    “Interior PM generator for portable AC generator sets,” Energy Conversion Congress and Exposition (ECCE), IEEE 2014.

R. Dutta, M. F. Rahman, and L. Chong, “Winding Inductances of an Interior Permanent Magnet (IPM) Machine With Fractional Slot Concentrated Winding,” IEEE Trans. Magnetics., vol. 48, no. 12, 2012, pp. 4242-4849.

0 replies

Leave a Reply

Want to join the discussion?
Feel free to contribute!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *